Being Still

5 Feb

I’ve been sitting with this open on my laptop all day. I really don’t know how to start it, or where I want to go with it. I know what I want to say to you, but like I said, I don’t know where to begin. I apologize if this begins to ramble on.

Tomorrow will be a month since my dad passed away. I can tell you that while it has gotten easier, it has also gotten harder. It’s become easier to accept the fact that he’s gone, it has also become that much harder to deal with. I’ll never get to hear his voice again, I’ll never get to get his advice on what to do with my life. Most of all, it’s hard to deal with the fact that I he won’t get to walk me down the aisle and we won’t get to have the big father-daughter dance.

What I’ve heard most in this last month is Romans 8:28. It says:

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” (NIV)

I’ll be real with you, at first, I wanted to smack everyone who said that to me. I still kind of do. But if there is anything I’ve learned, even in this month, is that this verse is true. And so is every other verse in the Bible. My dear friend Sara, who was walked through this with me in the last month (love her!) challenged me to be still in the Word. And if I’m going to be honest, I hadn’t exactly been reading the Bible like it was my favorite book lately. It was hard getting back into it.

Last week, at Elevate, Chris talked about endurance through life. He read Romans (again with the Romans?) chapter five, verses three through five. This says:

“Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” (NIV)

From then until about 3:30 the next morning, God was just showing me Scripture after Scripture about how I need to not try to deal with this on my own, but how much I need to rely on God and that I need to be still in Him. The last verse I read was Hebrews 6:19.

“We have this hope as an anchor, firm and secure.”

What sort of hope is this? It’s the hope in Christ. It’s the hope for a better tomorrow. It’s the hope that things will get better, and they will! So from me to you, my friends, be still and have hope.

Leave a Reply

